Geraldo: “My Whole Life Changed”

“I became a dope smoker.” * Fox News anchor Geraldo Rivera revealed on Fox & Friends Friday that the Beach Boys, the Beatles, and Bob Dylan changed his life–for better or for worse. As the final hour of F&F commenced, the show opened anew on the plaza with the Beach Boys playing “Surfin’ U.S.A.” in their debut on the “All American Summer Concert Series.” Segueing to the curvy couch, guest co-host Clayton Morris intoned, “I think [that] this is the song that changed Geraldo’s life, Geraldo Rivera.”

Animatedly, Geraldo answered, “It did! It did! It was right from 1963.” Elaborating, as he animatedly moved to the music, Geraldo remarked, “I was at Maritime College in the Bronx, Fort Schuyler: I was going to  have a military career. That song came out: I said to my friend Frankie de Checko (sp?) out on Long Island, ‘Come on: we’re going.’ We got into the old Chevy; we hit Route 66; [and we] went to California. And, my whole life changed because of the Beach Boys.” Laughing, he added, “And, the rest is history!”

Chiming in, F&F co-host Brian Kilmeade jested, “And, if it was [sic] the Beatles, you would have moved to London?” Grinning puckishly and gesticulating amiably, Geraldo riposted, “The Beatles is why I got long hair: So, I was very easily impressible.” Ever the open book, he added, “And, then Dylan: I became a dope smoker!”

Ever FNC’s provocateur!

Fox & Friends – 08/15/14 (@ 8:02 a.m. ET)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

