Dave Briggs: Surviving Chauvinism?

“If you want to yap..go watch it [the Super Bowl]…with the ladies in the kitchen.”* This morning, Fox News Weekend co-host Dave Briggs put his seemingly chauvinistic big foot in his mouth again this morning with another diss to the “ladies.” Unfortunately, neither he nor his TV wife Alisyn Camerota could quite successfully extract it.

During a segment entitled “Surviving a Super Bowl Party,” Dave declared that a Wall Street Journal author had called the game a “no shushing event.” Then, he scoffed, “I have to take issue with this….I’m not there for the commercials like my friend [Aly] here. I’m there for the game and the commentary. I don’t want you yapping!”  Looking into the camera at his audience directly (and then at Aly), he regrettably remarked, “If you want to yap out[side] of the commercials, go watch it in [sic] the other TV with the ladies in the kitchen.”

Not all of Dave’s F&FW audience were overly amused. One such viewer, Nicole Pinkham, took issue with Dave’s errant aside, Tweeting, “@davebriggstv @ClaytonMorris @AlyatFox Dave…you did not just say “watch with the ladies in the kitchen”…really?!?…c’mon man!!!” Coming “dutifully” to Dave’s defense, Aly artfully answered, “He was probably just dissin me!” Not helping himself in the least, Dave daftly added, “All the ladies at my party watch in the kitchen.”

Dave, Dave, were those “ladies” at your party driven there by their hubbies who would not let them drive either?

[Author’s aside: Long-time viewers of Fox & Friends Weekend may remember the significance of the author’s final gibe at poor Dave’s expense. Slightly over three years ago, Carpe Diem took the F&FW co-anchor to task for saying, “I love my wife, and I don’t let her drive,” and his subsequent inept explanation, “I have to clarify: I do let my wife drive whenever she wants—just not when I’m in the car.” In response to the author, Dave defensively declared, “My wife can do whatever she wants whenever she wants. I made an attempt [at] a joke, albeit a poor one….No man who marries a strong, smart, driven lawyer [Brandi Moreland] is a chauvinist.” And, dear reader, he probably is not: But, his comments today certainly did not further his case.]

*Fox & Friends Weekend – 02/05/12 (@ 9:33 a.m. ET)


Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

