Dave Tears Up

Today Fox & Friends Weekend co-anchor Dave Briggs received an early morning Father’s Day call on air from his wife Brandi and young daughter Emerson. At the beginning of the call, Brandi said, “Happy Father’s Day! I have someone here who is very excited to talk to you. Here’s Emerson.” Warmly greeting her, Dave said, “Hi, Em!” Emerson answered, “Happy Father’s Dad, Daddy! I made a card for you.”

As Dave answered, “You made a card for me?,” F&FW showed a split screen with a picture of Dave’s two children, Emerson and William, on one side and a live shot of him on the other. Turning to his co-hosts Clayton Morris and Courtney Friel, Dave commented, “See. I hate when they show that shot of me because I always get emotional when I talk to my little girl.”

Still on the phone, Emerson enthusiastically exclaimed, “I love you!” Dave tenderly replied, “I love you, too, Sweetie!” Emerson added, “I miss you! Bye.” Dave responded, “I miss you, too. Bye.”

Apparently, not one to revel in the Hallmark moment, Clayton requested, “Zoom in on camera two tighter: I want to see if there is a tear that’s about to [flow].” Abashedly putting his hand to his face and shaking his head, Dave declared, “I’m so soft. I’m so soft. Man!” Dave laughed, “Thank you to my producers for making me appear so soft.” As Dave concluded, “Very nice though. My daughter Emerson, my son William at home on this Father’s Day. I can’t wait to get home.”

In the meantime, Clayton kiddingly got a box of tissues and handed two tissues to Dave. Dave pulled them apart as if to use one. Even though he never did while the camera was on him, he discreetly wiped the bottom of his eye with his thumb as he subsequently discussed being a dad.

At the end of the show, Clayton announced that Dave’s wife Brandi had e-mailed the show. “Reading it,” he said, “Hey, Dave, don’t look now but we’re in the studio with your kids and we’re surprising you on this Father’s Day.” As he did, in walked his beautiful wife Brandi with their two small children Emerson and William. Grinning broadly, Dave eagerly picked up their children in his arms and gave his wife a sweet kiss on the lips.

Dave: a soft touch. In a good way.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Dave Tears Up”

  1. Dave Says:

    Clayton, got teary too when talking to his Dad who has sinced recovered from his bypass. Both seem like nice family guys. Happy Father’s Day to all.

  2. Clayton Chokes Up « Carpe Diem Says:

    [...] Carpe Diem Point Pleasant Musings « Dave Tears Up [...]

  3. jakeho Says:

    Dave, I agree they both seem like nice family fellows. As to Clayton’s tearing up, I didn’t see it in real time: rather, I was on DVR time. Subsequently, I penned the “Clayton Chokes Up” post.

    If you’re a dad, happy Father’s Day!

  4. Dave Says:

    Hi Jake,

    I’m an uncle but not a dad, but I still had a great day with my dad and family, Hope you had a great Father’s Day too.

  5. Daddy Dave’s Princess « Carpe Diem Says:

    [...] aside: For related stories, cf. "Dave Tears Up" and "Dave: 'The Briggs Girls.'"] GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

